Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Airline Services)

Introduction
Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Airline Services), This programme is specializing in providing vocational and professional training in airline and cruise services  With the Qualifications Framework QF Level 4; graduates can pursue professional recognitions which help them up a step on the career ladder.
This programme aims at offering essential and extensive operational knowledge and professional training in airline services. Well-equipped mock-up cabin, ground service operation training facilities, and ticketing system, provide students with authentic learning environment.
Professional Qualification

The Division of Hospitality and Applied Learning of Hong Kong College of Technology is recognised as:

  • Allied Member of Hong Kong Association of Travel Agents (HATA)
  • International Scheme Member of Institute of Hospitality Education Membership Scheme (IOH)
  • Regional Member of The Network of Asia-Pacific Education and Training Institutes in Tourism (APETIT)
Contents

Programme Features

  • 【Simulated aviation facilities】Well-equipped Mock-Up Cabin, Check-in Counter with Central Reservation System (AMADEUS) provide students with ground service and on-board training
  • 【Internship in Professional Practice】More than 600 hours of internship, allowing students to learn from the actual working environment, increasing competitiveness and acceptance after graduation. Strong industry and employer networks help connect and build platforms between students and the industry which enhance student employability
  • 【Visit and study tour】Arrange the visit and study tour to the related industries, for example, Hong Kong International Airport including the restricted area
  • 【Articulation path】Graduates can pursue a bachelor's degree programme in related disciplines
  • 【Government subsidy SSSDP】This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/ Sectors (SSSDP). In 2024/25 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,910 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme

 

Featured Modules

  • Airline Product Knowledge and Planning
  • Airport Operations and Management
  • Airlines Ground Service Operations
  • Cabin Services Management
  • Fare Calculation
  • On-Board Catering Management
  • Ramp Services and Turnaround Co-ordination 
  • Operation of Central Reservations System
  • More than 600 hours of internship

Articulation Path

Graduates are eligible to apply for:

  • A related bachelor’s degree programme at Sheffield Hallam University or the University of Northampton or Univerisity College Birmingham in the UK;
  • Related bachelor’s degree programmes offered by local or overseas universities.

 

Career Prospects

May join the field of tourism and hospitality, which covers travel agencies, hotels, private clubs, restaurant groups, convention and exhibition organisers, event coordination, theme parks, airline companies and airport ground handling companies, etc.

 

Employers Feedback

Ms. Jackie Wu
President and Aviation Specialist
Jetsolution International Service Limited

"HKCT graduates of Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Airline and Cruise Services) truly understand high-level hospitality, to support our demanding business servicing VVIP clients using private jets. The graduates show passion in aviation matters with good initiative to learn and exceed the high standards demand. From polished service language skills to courteous telephone manner, they demonstrate positive work attitude and create solutions to meet fast-moving aviation industry challenges."

The programme offers a wide range of internship opportunities including airlines, ground services or relevant organizations. Students who perform well may be offered full-time positions by the enterprises.

 


Internship at Jardine Aviation Services 
[Rebranded as Menzies CNAC Aviation Academy (MCAA) since May 2024]

Mode of Study

Full Time

Teaching Mode

Face to face

Commencement of Study

September 2024

Duration

2 Years

Location
Entry Requirements
  1. Attained Level 2 in 5 HKDSE subjects#, including Chinese and English [each applicant is allowed to use not more than two Applied Learning subjects at “Attained” level as equivalent to Level 2 in the application]^; or
  2. Pass in 1 A-Level or 2 AS-Level subjects in HKALE; and 5 passes in HKCEE including Chinese Language and English Language; or 
  3. Holder of Diploma Yi Jin/ Diploma of Applied Education; or
  4. Holder of Diploma for Tertiary Studies; or
  5. Holder of Pre-Associate Degree; or
  6. Holder of Diploma and
    - the qualification should be awarded by one of the local or overseas recognised tertiary institutions / post-secondary colleges; and 
    - the length of study is at least 450 teaching hours; or
  7. Aged 21 or above with 1 year working experience; or
  8. Equivalent qualifications; 
    AND
  9. Pass the admission interview.

    # If one of the five HKDSE subjects considered is “Citizenship and Social Development”, the general admission requirement shall be “Attained” instead of “Level 2”. 
    ^ Applied Learning Chinese (for non-Chinese speaking students) is in general accepted as Chinese Language qualification, but it is not considered as an elective subject.  

Lai Ming Yi
Currently working as Cathay Pacific Airways Customer Services Officer
"Life at HKCT is fabulous and full of challenges. I got a lot of industrial exposures during my study in HKCT. I had visited Cathay Pacific City which showed me a full picture on airline operation process including flight disruption and passengers handling. Furthermore, I have visited different 5-star hotel groups such as Marriott and Shangri-La group, which broadened my understanding of the characteristics of different positions and the overall operation process of the hotel industry. More specifically, I had participated in different mega events and networking activities where I could enhance the level of profession and broaden horizons before I graduated. For example, acted as the event helper in Gourmet Young Master Chefs 2017, acted as student representative in Hong Kong Association of Travel Agents Diamond Jubilee Celebration. Being the Student Leader in the Hong Kong Wine and Dine Festival organized by Hong Kong Tourism Board further developed my leadership skills and teamwork collaboration.
Working in Wing On Travel during my internship period have enriched my understanding in different segmentation of the tourism industry, allowing me to learn from the actual working environment, increasing competitiveness and acceptance after graduation.
In short, the knowledge I learnt in Higher Diploma in Tourism Management helped me to adapt to the job purview of Customer Services Officer in Cathay Pacific Airway quickly after graduated. For example, modules of Airlines Ground Service Operations and Airport Operations and Management have given me a preliminary understanding of airport operation and services in a micro perspective. All these exposures and vocational training have sharpened my knowledge and well-prepared myself prior to joining the aviation industry."

Wong Wing Ting, Sa
"I have been benefited a lot during 3-year study in Hong Kong College of Technology. I have learnt practical airline services knowledge, which is essential to my placement. In my last semester, some of us have been sent to Jardine Aviation Services for placement. Life is not easy working at the airport, like waking up early in coldness and darkness, running with passengers in the airport, etc. However, I appreciate everything I have learnt, which will be beneficial to my future career development. Many thanks to my lecturers for this great opportunity as well as sweet memory built with my classmates."

Tjioe Pui Lam, Yuri
Currently working as Human Resources Assistant in Hong Kong Airlines
"I am happy to share my feelings about my placement. I was a trainee who worked in Human Resources Department in Hong Kong Airlines. This was a valuable experience for me to gain knowledge and learn about different circumstances in the airline industry. Indeed the placement changes me a lot, especially my future plan and personality. This work experience makes me more mature to face challenges and more confident to communicate with others. Now, I am a full-time Human Resources Assistant in Hong Kong Airlines. I am grateful to have this valuable opportunity!" 

Year 1: $56,808 Year 2: $62,454

The tuition fee above is under 2024/25 Cohort.
This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2024/25 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,910 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $33,898. 

QF Level
The qualification of this programme is recognised under the Qualifications Framework in Hong Kong.
QF level:4
QR Registration No.:20/000100/L4
Registration Validity Period:1/9/2020 to 31/8/2026

Applicants who do not meet the entry requirement may apply for a 1-year Diploma of Applied Education (listed below) and articulate to this higher diploma programme.
Diploma of Applied Education (Hospitality and Aviation Services)

Tuition fees and subsidies are to be reviewed and adjusted annually on various factors.
This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2024/2025 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,910 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $33,898. Only local students are eligible for the subsidy under SSSDP.

旅游业管理高级文凭(航空服务)

简单课程介绍
旅游业管理高级文凭(航空服务), 本课程针对业界要求,致力为学员提供旅游及航空服务范畴的专业训练,为职业专才及全人发展打好基础。本课程属资历架构第四级别,此外,学员亦有机会获专业认可资格。
课程提供航空服务相关范畴训练,校内特设模拟机舱及地勤服务实务训练设施,并配备航空电脑订位系统,为学员提供模拟学习环境。
专业认可资格

本校款待应用学习学部拥有以下认可资格:

  • 香港旅行社协会附属会员 (HATA)
  • 英国款待学院国际教育机构会员 (IOH)
  • 亚太旅游教育及培训院校网络会员 (APETIT)
课程介绍及特色

课程特色

  • 【模拟航空设备】校内设模拟机舱、航空公司登机柜台、航空计算机订位系统等,还原真实工作场景,提供地勤、航机机舱服务等实务训练,令同学熟习工作流程,为日后投身航空业作好准备
  • 【参观及考察】安排相关行业参观及考察,例如到香港国际机场及禁区范围
  • 【业界实习】实习时数高达600小时以上,同学被安排到各大航空或地勤接待公司或相关机构实习,增加实战机会,提升竞争力及受聘认可性。表现良好的学生,更有机会获实习机构直接聘用。强大业界及雇主网络,联系及建立平台,提升学员职涯规划机遇
  • 【升学出路】课程有助学生打好基础,衔接相关大学课程
  • 【政府资助SSSDP】本课程(非实验室为本)已获纳入教育局的「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」。在2024/25,合资格本地学生修读本课程可每年获最高$22,910的资助金额

 

特色科目

  • 航空业产品知识与策划
  • 机场营运和管理
  • 机场客务运作
  • 客舱服务管理
  • 旅游业机票计算实务
  • 客舱餐饮管理
  • 停机坪服务及航班调度协调
  • 航空订位实务
  • 600小时以上实习

升学阶梯

  • 可申请升读英国雪菲尔哈伦大学 (Sheffield Hallam University) 或诺咸顿大学 (The University of Northampton) 或伯明翰大学学院 (University College Birmingham) 相关学士学位课程;
  • 可申请衔接到本地或海外大学修读相关学士学位课程。


就业出路

可投身于各旅游业及酒店款待相关的机构工作,包括各大旅行社、星级酒店、私人会所、餐饮集团、会议及展览公司、项目统筹、主题公园、航空公司及机埸客运接待公司。


雇主回馈

Ms. Jackie Wu
总裁及资深航空专家
国际商务航空顾问有限公司

“修读香港专业进修学校旅游业管理高级文凭(航空及邮轮服务)的毕业生很理解招待私人飞机客户所需要的高质素服务。他们对航空事务充满热情、主动学习,而且超越了我们对他们的高水平要求。从有礼的说话技巧到电话礼仪,他们都表现出积极的工作态度和创新的解决方案,以满足航空业快速发展的挑战。”

实习机构包括航空及地勤接待公司或相关机构。表现良好的学生,更有机会获实习机构直接聘用。

 


怡中航空学院服务实习 
(2024年5月起已名为中航明捷航空培训学院)

课程模式

全日制

授课形式

面授

开课日期

2024年9月

修业期

2年

上课地点
入学资格
  1. 香港中学文凭考试五科二级#,包括中国语文及英国语文(接受最多两科「达标」等同二级的应用学习科目^);或
  2. 香港高级程度会考一科高级程度科目或两科高级补充程度科目及格,及香港中学会考五科及格(包括中国语文及英国语文);或
  3. 毅进文凭/应用教育文凭;或
  4. 专科文凭;或
  5. 副学士先修课程证书;或
  6. 文凭
    - 资历须由本地或海外认可的高等教育院校或专上学院颁发;及 
    - 学习时数不少于450小时;或
  7. 年满21岁或以上,及具有1年工作经验;或 
  8. 具同等学历;
  9. 通过入学面试

    # 如该五科的其中一科为「公民与社会发展科」,一般入学要求为在该科取得「达标」成绩。
    ^ 应用学习中文(非华语学生适用)一般获接纳为中国语文科资历,但不会被视为选修科目。 

黎明意
现为国泰航空公司 客户服务主任
“港专的校园生活多姿多彩,充满挑战,期间亦得到很多难能可贵的学习体验。我曾到国泰城参观,从而了解更多关于航空公司的营运方式及接待乘客的技巧。我亦参观了不同的五星级酒店集团,例如万豪国际集团及香格里拉酒店集团,加深我对酒店行业不同岗位的特点和酒店整体营运模式的认知。我亦透过学校强大的业界网络参与不同的活动,扩阔了我对旅游业的认识,例如环球厨神世界菁英赛2017,以及香港旅行社协会60周年钻禧会庆等。此外,我在香港旅游发展局举办的‘美酒佳肴巡礼’活动中担当学生领袖一角,不只让我发挥了领导才能和团队合作精神,还丰富了行业知识及个人阅历,亦建立了业界的联系。

课程为我们提供了在旅游业界的实习机会,我在永安旅游实习期间,加深对旅游业不同领域的了解,从600小时实际工作环境下学习,增加毕业后的竞争力。
旅游业管理高级文凭的其中一个学科“航空公司地面服务运营和机场营运与管理”,令我对机场地面运作有初步了解,使我可以迅速适应现时国泰航空客户服务主任的职位。这些宝贵的经验和职前培训,令我更确定自己对旅游业的热爱,并为我加入航空界前打造一个良好的基础。”

黄咏婷
“在这三年的港专生活里,无论在知识上还是扩阔社交圈子都有很大得着。我学到实用的航空知识,并且应用于我现时的实习工作上。在最后一个学期里,我和几位同学被派往怡中地勤公司里当实习生。虽然工作辛苦,要在严寒里凌晨起床上班,几乎每天都要在机场奔跑陪客人赶飞机,但最终学到的一切都很值得。很感谢老师们给予我一个这么好的机会,很庆幸能遇到港专的同学和老师们,给我留下美好的回忆。”

周佩琳
现为香港航空 人力资源助理
“我很高兴能在这里分享我对实习的感受。之前我在香港航空的人事部当实习生,增加了我的知识及对航空业的认识,对我有莫大益处。实习体验更改变了我的性格及对未来的计划,使我更成熟的面对困难、与人沟通更自信。现在我任职香港航空人事部,实习经验的确给予我很大帮助!”

一年级: $56,808 二年级: $62,454

以上为2024/25年度之学费。
本课程(非实验室为本)已获纳入教育局的「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」。在2024/25学年,合资格本地学生修读本课程可每年获最高$22,910的资助金额,扣除最高资助金额后的学费为$33,898。

资历架构级别
本课程资历已获香港资历架构认可
资历级别:4
资历名册登记号码:20/000100/L4
登记有效期:1/9/2020 至 31/8/2026

如申请人成绩未达最低入学要求,可先报读以下一年制应用教育文凭,再升读本高级文凭:
应用教育文凭(酒店款待及航空服务)

学费及资助会因应各种因素而按年作出适当调整。
本课程(非实验室为本)已获纳入教育局的「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」。在2024/2025学年,合资格本地学生修读本课程可每年获最高$22,910的资助金额,扣除最高资助金额后的首年学费为$33,898。 只有本地学生才合资格获得「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」资助。